top of page

2020 The Covid Dress

Updated: Nov 5, 2021

After many years of being away from creating, but still following along with the CFCA's Wearable Arts Shows, I came back on to the Wearable Arts scene right at the same time Covid hit. Unfortunately with the pandemic the show was cancelled for that year but I still continued to create my submission.


The Covid dress was inspired by the funny drinking memes that were popping up everywhere at the time and my favorite film/comic book "Tank Girl".

Many people from far across the country saved their beer can tabs and caps for me to make this creation. This dress could not have been made without their support and dedication! They had no idea what I was going to do with the tabs and caps, but everyone saved them and sent them out anyway.


There is no actual performance piece for the dress, but it is featured in the documentary "Wearing your Art on your Sleeve", a Jimber Jam production. You can find this short film on You Tube on "The Centre for Creative Arts" channel.

The Covid dress was also displayed at The Grande Prairie Mall for Alberta Culture days and was my first piece to have ever been on display there.



Model

Miss Bellatrix



Concept Song: Sheena is a Punk Rocker by The Ramones






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page